A Lesson To Learn

An area for new members to introduce themselves, as well as a place where all members can share concerns, questions or general posts.
Everyone is welcome here.

Moderators: Harmony, quixote, Jonesy

Magpie

A Lesson To Learn

Post by Magpie »

Hi everyone,

Just sharing a thought on something, through my own experiences more recently on struggling with articulating to people and expectations of others.

I’ve thought recently that what I’ve needed is validation from family, that what I’ve been through with them is real, and yes it is something to stand up for and speak out. But I don’t get that, and I guess it was a fantasy to expect them to stop and be able to listen and learn and understand. I have been getting anger, rejection, the silent treatment and denial. It’s not right and it sucks, but what do I do now? I’m in limbo.

One thing I’m still learning and have learned somewhat is that if it feels right in your heart, if you are standing up for what is right-then that is all the validation we need.

No matter how loud I shout, or how much I cry, or how often I try to get them to understand, they just don’t get it. And you know what? It’s starting to be ok, it hurts daily but letting go of the expectation of validation helps.

Rest assured I have planted a seed, maybe one day that seed will grow and they will see it and hear me. I have tried to make myself heard. That’s all I can do. It’s time for healing now. I am not responsible for others reactions or actions, and if others choose to turn a blind eye, enable or deny, that’s up to them.

I’ve tried so so hard to be heard from my family, they just think I have problems with my relationship and I’m taking it out on them. They think I’m mad, they deny saying and doing certain things.

I remember daily what was said and what happened, and that although hard to live with, will hopefully help me to grow as a person and be a good mum to my son.

Thanks for listening . Love & light to you all x