Surviving and teaching

An area for new members to introduce themselves, as well as a place where all members can share concerns, questions or general posts.
Everyone is welcome here.

Moderators: Harmony, quixote, Jonesy

Squiggy

Surviving and teaching

Post by Squiggy »

In the chat a few nights ago, I remarked that an unusually large number of abuse survivors on the forum grew up to become schoolteachers, too many to be a coincidence.
Those of you who did enter that field, what drew you to the job? Are you happy with your choice of profession?
Those of you who didn't, was that job something you considered? If so, what led you in another direction?
Chessgirl

Re: Surviving and teaching

Post by Chessgirl »

I was a preschool teacher. Before that I was a nanny. When I eventually finish my last class needed for my BA, id like to teach. I have always been told I have a gift with kids. It comes naturally to me. I know how to get down on their level and play just like a children. I can draw them in and I’m extremely patient with them, unlike how I am with adults. I love all kids even the ones who are challenging. I’m not sure exactly what it is... I think my ability to think, act and play like a kid has helped. I’ve heard other survivors have this skill set as well. My childhood I think helped me to become more empathetic with kids than some people. This is super interesting and I’m curious what others have to say.
Chessgirl
Tryingtostayafloat

Post by Tryingtostayafloat »

I'm a behaviour mentor now, I also started as a nanny, then primary school special educational needs(sen) then secondary ebd emotional behavioural disorders, pupil refferral unit, then Autism and ebd.