Introducing me, my story of emotional/sexual abuse

A discussion area specifically for survivors who suffered physical, emotional, and verbal child abuse. This forum can also be used for Members who suffered sexual abuse at the time of physical, emotional and verbal abuse.

Moderators: Harmony, quixote, ajei

Girlandbull

Introducing me, my story of emotional/sexual abuse

Post by Girlandbull »

This is my first time doing this, but I find it so hard carrying around these 'secrets'. They're not entirely secrets, but I feel like they are because it's not acceptable to speak about them. It makes people uncomfortable, and there is never a right time to bring it up. But it shapes my everyday. It's vital in who I am. I want to talk about it. So I've come here.

If this is in the wrong topic please let me know.

I'd like to explain who I am in three stories.

The first story begins when I am 4. My parents have just separated. At one point my father was staying at my aunties house. Around that time I also have a memory of being in the cubby house with my cousin playing. I knew the game well but I have no memory of playing it before. I undressed and pretended to shower. He pretended to be an intruder, and I had to ignore him. You get the idea. I have snippets of later memories, but this is the clearest one. I am terrified. I am frozen. I squeeze my eyes shut and wait for it to be over. I am four and I already know that my body is not mine, and that others can inflict so much pain.
In this story, I believe for years a few things. Firstly, I believe that nobody was going to save me, which was true. I also believed that if anyone knew, I would be abandoned. Finally, I tried to believe that it was normal. You see, my cousin is only a few years older than me and we're told our whole lives that exploration is normal. I finally spoke out at 18, nothing was done about it and I was ostracized from the extended family.