My Story of Abuse

A discussion area specifically for survivors who suffered physical, emotional, and verbal child abuse. This forum can also be used for Members who suffered sexual abuse at the time of physical, emotional and verbal abuse.

Moderators: Harmony, quixote, ajei

juliewr

My Story of Abuse

Post by juliewr »

This is really hard for me to write. I have never really spoken about this and certainly have never written it all out. Please give me some grace as I try to write this in a non-confusing way. I may jump around a little as I gather these thoughts.

I am 35 years old and beyond happy married. I have three awesome kids. All of that is great and I wouldn't change any of it. My husband is the most gentle, loving, caring man on the planet. I am a professional with a college degree and a great career that I love. Everything should be fine, but sometimes I get so depressed and anxious over the past that I can hardly function. It is not for long periods of time, sometimes just a few minutes until something pulls me from the memories. Other times I can go a few weeks getting by, but being anxious and sad.

I grew up in Pennsylvania in a pretty conservative religious area. My parents were, and still are, extremely fundamentalist and religious. Spanking was always part of my upbringing, but it was not extreme for most of my life. For example, I was spanked by my parents maybe 15 times before age 15, maybe even less. Most of those were with their hand on my bare butt, long enough to leave some marks for a few hours. A couple of them were with a paddle and twice they were with a belt, also on the bare butt. Those left some marks that lasted longer, but still it was a rare, although severe when it happened, occurrence.